Saying goodbye is never easy

I said goodbye to my ‘second home’ for this past 6 years. Where I spent at least 9 hours a day there. Sometimes more. Most of the time I was there from 8 AM to 7 PM. There were times I came 8 AM and left midnight.

It’s a familiar place. I know every nook and crannies. I know how the doors behave; there were doors that couldn’t be closed. There were doors better left closed all the time. There were doors where you gotta knock first, and there were doors that welcome you every time.

I know almost everyone. Having spent 9 hours per day with the same group of people, I become fond of them. Especially the ones sitting near to me. My team.

My team, how we struggled and bleed together through it all. Through countless top-management change. Trough the good times when sales result hit the roof, and through the bad times when revenue went down the sink. Through the times we were supported with two advertising agencies, and through the times when we had none and we acted like an agency. Through the times when the question was “How come we haven’t spent the budget yet?” to the times when the question was “How do we find budget to do this?”

We gave birth to two new brands. And we cultivated the eldest brand, and despite the hardship and the storm, it still survives.

They’re like my family. I spent more waking hours with them than with my real family.
And although I know we’ll be friends forever, it still breaks my heart to say goodbye.


Goodbyes are not forever, goodbyes are not the end
They simply mean I’ll miss you, until we meet again

Leave a Reply

