October

October; the beginning of the last quarter of the year… approaching the end of 2011. A good time to pause, review, and evaluate.

I originally started this post in September. Things get in the way and I finally finish this post in October.

I used to think (& feel) I have all the time in the world. Now I feel like I have less and less time.

Of course it’s not true. Time is the great equalizer. Everybody alive have 24 hours a day. No more, no less. Some people are born rich, some people are born beautiful, but we all have one thing in common – just 24 hours a day.

It’s what we do with the time given to us that matters. Hmm this sounds very familiar. Gandalf said something similar to Frodo. *googling*

Here’s the exact quote:

Frodo: I wish the ring had never come to me. I wish none of this had happened.

Gandalf: So do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us. There are other forces at work in this world Frodo, besides the will of evil. Bilbo was meant to find the Ring. In which case, you were also meant to have it. And that is an encouraging thought.

Frodo is in familiar situation – he is about to begin a very difficult task. For us, the challenge is not as big destroying the one ring at Mount Doom to save the world from supreme evil Sauron – but we have our own task & challenges nevertheless. And sometimes we want to give up.

Anyway it wasn’t my intent to write about overcoming challenges. I want to write about time.

That feeling “time flies so fast” come to me very often now. This article is one example. I started this in 9 September (almost one month ago!), saved draft, forgot about it, today I open wordpress and I couldn’t believe almost 1 month has passed since I write the first draft.

I tried to remember why I didn’t get to finish writing this post, but it’s a blur. I can’t clearly remember what I did yesterday, the day before, last week. Is it because everything moved too fast? Or is it because I wasn’t really paying attention, I moved through time half awake?

One thought on “October

  1. Pingback: Less than a month before my first half-marathon « perpetual work in progress

Leave a Reply

