Less than a month before my first half-marathon

I wrote about time in the last entry... how time flies and I felt like I move through it half awake.

And now it’s November already. Just one more month before 2012.

Less than one month before my first half marathon!

Am I confident I can finish? Sure. But can I finish under 2:30? I don’t think so. I predict my finish time is somewhere between 2:45 and 3 hours.

Yes I’m slow. I wish I can run faster but I can’t at this moment. What’s more important for me at the moment is just finishing.

The farthest distance I ran is 16,8 km at the Jakarta adidas King of the Road race. And my time was 2:15. So if I keep that pace in the half marathon, the result will be (135 minutes divide by 16,8km) x 21 km = 169 minutes = 2:49 minutes.

I’ve also just finished a 10K run at the Ragunan Zoo, where my time was 1:19. With this pace (7.9km/hour) my half marathon prediction time will be 166 minutes = 2:46 minutes. The Zoo track is quite tough with lots of turning and uphill and downhill. I did finished a 10K in 1:18 on flatter surface, with this 7.8km/hour pace my half marathon prediction time will be 163.8 minutes = 2:43.8 minutes.

I don’t want to pressure myself with time result, I will only aim to finish under 3 hours. The half marathon is on 4 December, it’ll be exactly 11 months after I broke my fifth metatarsal bone of the left foot.

I never thought I would join a half marathon. Back then I thought I’ll just run the 10K and cross it off my 43things list. Now it includes finishing a marathon someday. Perhaps next year.

One thought on “Less than a month before my first half-marathon

  1. Pingback: On running | perpetual work in progress

Leave a Reply

