A break

After almost 10 years of corporate life, I’m going to take a break. 

Why?

Because I want to prioritize myself.

I’m taking time off to do what I want to do.

I’m undergoing a 2 years Yogic Study at Satyananda Australasia. I’ve started the first semester last January, and I’ll be starting the second semester next July. This yogic study requires me to live in the ashram for about 2-3 weeks each semester. Last January the corporate I work for gave me permission to take unpaid leave, this time it couldn’t gave me that luxury so I had to choose. 

I’ve been wanting to take this Yogic Study since after Bali Spirit Festival in 2009 where I sat and listened to Dr. Swami Shankardev, it was from him that I found out about this very holistic yoga called Bihar Yoga / Satyananda Yoga. It took me 2+ years to gather my courage & resources and finally last year I made up my mind, I want to do this, at least try the first semester. I don’t want to wake up someday and feel sorry I didn’t try. 

Also last year I felt like a lot of things are reminding me “If not now, when? Now is all you got”. I have a colleague who suddenly fell very ill without any warning. Another colleague (whom I barely know) passed away suddenly. Steve Jobs died, and I reread his famous Stanford commencement speech, with this paragraph:

Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma — which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.

So I follow my heart & intuition and managed to overcome the obstacles. The most difficult one was from my family, they questioned and argued about what they think is best for me. Risking my job to study something totally new and not related with my work, that was unthinkable for them. I understand they did it because they love me, but I told them I need to do this and finally they relented. 
The moment I started the first semester of Yogic Study, I know that this path is closer to my heart than staying in the corporate jobs. I know I want to continue studying. So when it’s time for me to choose between Yogic Study or my job, I choose the first. Of course there were lots of doubts in my mind… such as “I’m already half way in the corporate ladder and doing pretty well career wise, do you want to waste all that?” “I have never been unemployed before, I’m afraid of not having my own income” “What will my family & friends say?” and so on. But I trust my heart knows better what’s best for me, and so I took the plunge.
3 thoughts on “A break

  1. Pingback: On freedom « perpetual work in progress

  2. Hello, hello… ini Sisilia “Ding-ding”. Masih inget? 🙂 Found you on Twitter and then this blog. Is it our age or what? I have been thinking of taking a break, too!! 🙂 I want to take a year off learning Japanese in Tokyo and be more involved in Japanese studies. Same thoughts… “Am I ready for not having stable income for a year (or more)?”; “Do I want to waste all the effort climbing up the corporate ladder all these years?” etc. And my family worries, too, which is the hardest part. So kudos to you, for having crossed those hurdles. Jia you!!! Now it’s my turn 🙂

    • Hello2, inget dong… thanks for your comment!
      I guess it has to do with age; we’ve finished school and worked and got to a comfortable stage where we don’t need to worry about tomorrow’s food… that frees up our time & energy to think, ponder, evaluate life… whether we’re in the right course or not.
      I have a question for you: “What’s stopping you?” If you still have an answer to that question, then work on it… until you got to a point where the answer is “nothing, except my own fear to the unknown” – then take the plunge.

Leave a Reply

