My elevator pitch

2496308570_c4245a2d4b_b

Fifth post of Live Your Legend blog challenge, the prompt is: What’s your elevator pitch?

When meeting new people inevitably this question will come up “What do you do?”

When I used to work in corporate my answer would be something like this “I’m in marketing for XX company, in charge of XX, YY, ZZ.”

I remember how my sense of self-worth was pretty much tied in with my career and the company I work for. If I didn’t have my job I would feel useless. That was the result of years of conditioning by society and education system. We’re always taught to study hard, graduate, get a job, progress our career, save enough money for retirement, and finally… retire and enjoy life. We’re always taught to compare, to check against our friends how are we doing, and the parameters we’re using are all external, for example career, how much money one’s making, what car one’s driving, what bag one’s carrying, etc. With comparison comes judgement, because comparing means giving scores to oneself and to other. So we’ve been trained to make judgements since young.

When I decided to take a break from corporate life, one of my biggest fear was that people would think I’m a useless person because I don’t have a full-time job. I realized now that I have that fear because I have that judgement on other people too, that someone is useless when someone doesn’t have a job. It’s the conditioning. Having the conditioning removed, I know better, that profession and self-worth are two separate things, and making judgements are not beneficial for anyone.


Intermezzo:

Judgement = fear.

Less judgement = less fear.

No judgement = no fear.

Less fear = more free.

No fear = free.

No judgement = no fear = free!


Coming back to the topic, now when the “what do you do” question come up, my answer is “I’m a yoga teacher and freelance marketing consultant.”

And then more often the topic will stay in yoga for example where I teach, where I train, what kind of yoga I’m teaching, how did I become a yoga teacher, etc. The marketing part, turned out, is not that interesting. I should just leave it out next time and only focus on the first part. People are more interested in: (A) the Yoga itself and how they will potentially benefit from it or (B) how did I become a yoga teacher as it is something they may look into one day.

“I teach yoga & meditation. I’m helping people to become at ease in their own body through movement, breath, and stillness.”

That will be my elevator pitch.

Image credit: Chicago Tribune Elevator by Cory Doctorow

4 thoughts on “My elevator pitch

  1. Great post. I particularly like the photo. It grabbed my attention. I read somewhere people think yoga teachers are one of the best jobs to have. I think it’s the lifestyle appeal and all the calm they display.

      • That depends I suppose. I used to do asthanga yoga and my teachers had this thing of a more intensive course for a year. I never did it but it wasn’t particularly cheap.

Leave a Reply

