Space for grace

spring-bud

What’s grace?

It’s difficult to define. According to Merriam-Webster dictionary, grace is:

a : unmerited divine assistance given humans for their regeneration or sanctification
b : a virtue coming from God
c : a state of sanctification enjoyed through divine grace

It’s something to do with divine and God.

And what is divine and what is God?

More and more description and words, in the attempt of describing something undescribable, something beyond words.

Every breath

Every move

Every sunrise

Every morsel

Every sip

Every heartbeat

Everything

is Grace

I wrote the above almost a year ago.

Grace is everything, and everything is grace. The more I realize that, the more I just let life flows. Allow. Open.

What was stopping me from letting life flow?

Conditioning. Fear. Afraid of not being accepted, afraid of being alone, etc. And thus I conformed with the conditioning of society – eg: study, get a degree, graduate, find a job, find a husband, build a career, buy a car, buy a house, go for a holiday, buy a fancier car, buy a bigger house, go for a more exotic holiday, and so on and so forth. And there’s no end in sight – there’s always something more, better, bigger, fancier.

This pursuit of ‘more’ made my life cluttered. Full of excess baggage. Not only physical but also mental. The more cluttered, the less space…

Without space, grace couldn’t flow – and it felt like I was swimming against the current.

I was unhappy, but too afraid to do anything because of fear; fear of being different, fear of failure, fear of not accepted by others. Until I realized that it was my fear that made me so clingy, too afraid to let go.

Facing the fear, I let things go. Clear out some stuff. And create space. Soon, with all the space, grace started flowing.

Cultivate space for grace, and grace will flow.

Image from 7-themes

8 thoughts on “Space for grace

  1. Are you saying you’ve already done the dance of getting married, a house, a bigger/fancier house, etc.?

    I have the same fears. Except, I have not “lived.” Instead, I seem to be stuck at the crossroads between “Do what the world is considering normalcy” and “Do what your heart desires.” If I do the former, I rob my soul and become just another android on this planet, soon to join some collective of human batteries tossed in a landfill of “status quo.” If I do the latter, I risk–I fear–winding up homeless and/or beaten up by those who would heckle such endearing behavior.

    • I did the dance… I got married (I’m still married now too) I didn’t buy a house – but cars, gadgets, stuffs, etc

      I understand that feeling. I was there too. Stuck at the crossroads.

      • So, would you say you bought gadgets to “be cool like others you knew” or to fill some void of happiness?

        If you are still married, what is going on with you and your “grace”? It sounds like you might still be at a crossroads.

      • I bought gadgets because it seemed to be the norm. I used to work in a technology retail company so I was surrounded by new gadgets and people with new gadgets. One of my tasks was trying to get people to buy the newest gadget in the market (even though they don’t need it, and maybe couldn’t afford it).

        I am still married, and I consider being married and having a life partner as part of grace. What’s going on with me and grace? We’re going along fine 😀

      • I know how that feels…being surrounded by merchandise.

        Ugh! And, that is the aspect I despised almost as much as how wasteful the company was! So much was thrown away because no one was able to fix it up or re-purpose it. So much haste and waste and not enough pay or staff. I hated pushing people to buy stuff they didn’t really need. And, it was sick seeing some customers buying stuff simply to fill a void in their emotional/social lives. I was one of them once. But, I cannot do that, again. And, I refuse to push people to buy stuff. I preferred to help people find what would benefit them, whether it was furniture or electronics. I helped people see what they could not in a time of need. And, if they needed nothing physical, I addressed the emotional/social aspect where I could…suffering my own social anxieties and absences.

        And, there is no way I am pushing someone with a tight or failing budget to buy something on credit that they cannot afford…that’s practically hustling and disastrous like pushing drinks on a drunk at the bar.

        Okay. Well, I am…glad you have sufficient grace, then.

  2. Hi Silvia,

    Nice post. I agree many problems of modern civilization stem from accumulation. Physical and mental as you put it. Stephen Warley of Unstuckable fame has said as much – that the first step to making change in your life is to declutter. (a book Stephen recommends is ‘The Life-changing magic of tidying up’ by Marie Kondo – I am reading this book and have found it helpful).

    Maybe that is the reason why I always feel better when traveling and living in a hotel. I don’t see the physical clutter of the stuff I see everyday in my home. And maybe this is why retreats work – by clearing our physical and hence mental dashboards – and letting the juice flow.

    Chandra

      • Hi Silvia,

        I just discarded about half my clothes using Marie’s method. I’m planning to do books next. Gathering everything in one place made it easy to see which ones are no longer “sparking joy”.

        Chandra

Leave a Reply

