You don’t have a soul – part 2

astonishing_facts_about_the_universe_640_36

Continuing previous post about the soul. You don’t have a soul, you are a soul, you have a body currently at this lifetime, living a human life.

What? So my essence is not a human, but a soul? 

Yes.

I don’t understand.

It is kinda difficult to grasp… because we have to communicate using words, and this is beyond words. I didn’t invent these descriptions – I read these over many books or listened to many talks: Each of us, all beings, are sparks of light from the same source. Waves of the same ocean. Leaves from the same one tree.

If the source is one, that means we’re all the same and connected?

Yes – only outer shell is different. The essence, the innermost, is the same. Personality, physical body, race, gender, age, family, nationality, all these are just outer shell.

But I feel so disconnected! I feel very separated from others. 

Yes that happens… as one gets born into a human body one forgot about his oneness with the source. And identify more and more with the shell. Now when one totally forgotten about the connection, one forgot about its essence too, and thought one is the shell and there is nothing more than the shell. This identification with the shell happens in so many layers. Example – one identify with the stuff one own, one derive one’s sense of self worth from the car one drives, the bag one carries, the shoes one wears, the zip code, the hair color and hair style, etc. Example of other layer – one thinks one is a woman, a wife, a sister, a mother, a teacher, and so on.

So should I discard the shell? 

The shell is like a vehicle. A vehicle assists you to go through a journey, from one point to another. Without the vehicle, one will be in limbo. If one is on a journey, one would make sure the vehicle is in good working condition.

What to do then?

Use the vehicle to move forward to connection, to integration. With this shell one can express, create, communicate, love, serve. Use this capacity to develop greater connection with others, and with the source.

The search for connection, towards integration, is inherent in human. Along the journey, at one point, one will eventually ask “Who am I really? Why am I here? Where am I going?”

This topic is so abstract and I tried my best to put it into words. I’ve attempted to write about it before:

If you’re into this kind of thing, here are some reading/listening suggestion:

  • Bhagavad Gita – Krishna speaks to Arjuna. Krishna is the source, Arjuna is the soul that misidentified with the shell. There are many versions available online.
  • Alan Watts – many of his lectures are on YouTube. Highly recommend his book “The Book On Taboo Against Knowing Who You Are”. Here’s an excellent discussion about this book on brainpicking.
  • Eckhart Tolle
  • Adyashanti
4 thoughts on “You don’t have a soul – part 2

  1. I am only fully human as a complete unit of BOTH body and soul. I’m wonderfully made and so is each human being. Of course I realize that when I die my body disintegrates and I will continue to exist, but my final destiny is with the perfect body when resurrection comes.

  2. Hi Silvia, I agree that we all come from the same source, the same primordial seed. The sources you have quoted are excellent for reminding ourselves of this fact when we feel disconnected from the universe. This is not only a spiritual truth but also a physical one. I quote from one of my heroes – Carl Sagan:
    “The nitrogen in our DNA, the calcium in our teeth, the iron in our blood, the carbon in our apple pies were made in the interiors of collapsing stars. We are made of starstuff.”
    Those stars we see in the distant night sky aren’t just a pretty sight. They are literally the oven where we were baked. If we want to feel connected to the Universe, all we need do is look up at the night sky.

Leave a Reply

