Adieu 2015, Hello 2016

Today is the last day of 2015. I’m writing this post as a review of 2015, before starting 2016.

Leaving corporate world

I took a big step of letting go my office job in January this year. I decided to try to rely on my teaching yoga as a main source of income. It did took some adjustments but it worked out. I was so used to having a monthly regular salary from one source, and not having to worry about having enough money in my bank account. When I left the corporate job, my income directly correlate with the number of classes I teach – so when I teach less class or have less client, I have less income. And vice versa, when I teach more class or have more client, I have more income. This took some getting used to.

To know exactly my income & expense I started tracking them using this app Goodbudget. It’s a finance tracking app based on envelopes concept. Very easy to use, highly recommended.

Teaching yoga

Teaching yoga became my main activity, and although the actual teaching itself is only 1 – 1.5 hours per session, it actually involved quite a lot, including travel time, class planning, etc. And the most important thing is to take care of my self in such a way that I feel good when I teach. I learned to arrange my schedule in such a way that I don’t get burned up or too tired. I think as a yoga teacher we exude energy during teaching, whether I’m aware about it or not, so I have to maintain my positive energy.

Aside from the regular classes I teach in several studios in Jakarta, here’s some more teaching experience this year:

  • Family Fitness Yogilates, Medan, as a guest teacher
  • Anandamaya Wellness Festival, Jakarta
  • During the Plum Village retreat, Bogor
  • During the retreat at Tushita Meditation Center, Dharamshala, India
  • Journey to Wholeness Retreat, Lembang, Bandung
yoga-tushitarooftop

Teaching yoga to 100 retreat participants from 40 different countries, on a rooftop with the view of Himalayan mountains, at Tushita Meditation Center, Dharamshala, India. Grateful for the experience.

Meditation

Since I met Om Swami last year I meditated a lot more.

This year I was fortunate to have experienced some meditation retreat / courses:

  • Immersive meditation retreat with Om Swami, Rishikesh, India
  • Meditation Training with Swami Pujan, Jakarta, Indonesia
  • Go as River Family Retreat with Plum Village monastic, Bogor, Indonesia
  • Introduction to Buddhism course, Tushita Meditation Center, Dharamsala, India

I use the app Insighttimer as a timer & meditation log when I meditate on my own. Looking back at the data, in 2015 I did 259 meditation sessions with total 4443 minutes (74 hours), this does not include the retreat meditation sessions. If the retreat sessions are accounted for, the total hours are probably around 120. Some number crunching: out of 365 days of the year, I meditated for just a little more than 5 whole days. Even if I take into account sleeping hours, out of 6570 waking hours (365 days * 18 hours), I meditated for 120 hours. That’s not even 2%.

I started a weekly donation-based meditation group at Karuna, one of the studio where I teach yoga. The attendance has been steady, in average 4 people, maximum was 9, minimum was 2. I enjoyed facilitating these sessions, the participant told me that they felt the benefits of meditation.

Learning

I’ve always known that I love learning. A test from this website (Martin Seligman’s Authentic Happiness, part of University of Pennsylvania) confirmed that love of learning is my highest-scoring character strength out of 24 items (the other 23 are: gratitude, kindness, citizenship, appreciation, self-regulation, love, forgiveness/mercy, integrity, open-mindedness, curiosity, perspective/wisdom, humor, humility/modesty, persistence, prudence, hope, intelligence, bravery, vitality, creativity, leadership, fairness, spirituality). Go take the test yourself to find out.

Similar result when asked to choose value cards during a Dale Carnegie training last year. We were asked to choose 3 out of 32 value cards, and my result was lifelong learning, integrity, and passion.

dalecarnegie-valuecards

3 chosen value cards out of 32

This year, thanks to my more flexible time, I had the opportunity to learn more. Technology enables everybody can learn from anyone through the internet. Notable online learning experiences:

I did  several offline face-to-face learnings as well, in addition to the meditation retreats I listed above:

Blogging

According to the stats, I published 38 posts in 2015. The blog received 1953 views from 951 visitors. Top 10 visiting countries: Indonesia, followed very closely by USA, and next come India, Australia, UK, Malaysia, Singapore, Netherlands, Ireland, Brazil. The growth is significant compared to 2014 (24 posts, 498 views from 208 visitors). Thank YOU for reading!

Top 5 posts in 2015:

I meant to post once a week every Monday. Looking at the posting pattern below, I only did it till April, started to wander off in May, only posting once a month in July & August, and somewhat posting randomly September onwards.

postingpattern

In October I started a new collaborative blog: Wannabe Zen, where I post spirituality-oriented writings, taking turns every other week with my friend Christine. In that blog I was exploring the topic of “seeing the world as it is” in a series of posts:

Fitness 

In 2015 I finished 3 marathons: Tokyo Marathon (February), Bali Marathon (August), and Jakarta Marathon (October). I did the Sungailiat Triathlon sprint distance in April and Cipali Duathlon in May.

As I started to teach yoga more, most of my mornings were taken up for teaching. My preferred time for workout is early morning, when I was still working in an office I hit the gym or the track everyday at 6 AM, sometimes even earlier. I haven’t been able to implement a new working out routines with flexible timing since. My workout has been sporadic. Even if I could go to the gym after teaching in the morning, often I only did very light workout, partly because I was going to teach another class that day and I didn’t want to be too tired.

The lack of workout resulted in weight gain – I gained around 4 kgs this year *gasps*. Gotta do something about it.

Moving forward

After review logically comes planning, but this post is getting too long, so I’m gonna stop here and continue next year.

Happy new year!

2 thoughts on “Adieu 2015, Hello 2016

  1. Pingback: Onwards to 2016 | perpetual work in progress

  2. Pingback: Onwards to 2016 – Silvia Hendarta

Leave a Reply

